A lot’s happened over this month. I graduated (yay!), apparently, but I don’t get the degree until about 5 years. ( Shakes fist at DU. :-/ ) and arrived at the RI in the first week of June. Also, I couldn’t attend the Jed-i finals, but found a good Samaritan to present it in my stead. So here’s to you Sanjith, for helping me at least present my (reasonably incomplete) project at the competition! There was also a little heartburn – I got selected to the national interview of the NS Scholarship for $30K, but they were adamant that I was to be present in person at Mumbai on the 15th. No amount of talking or convincing helped there, and so I had to let it go. Sad.

Anyway, so out here the first couple of weeks and a half I dabbled in the untidy art of making a comprehensive wxPython GUI for starting all the ROS nodes that need to be fired while testing the MAV. Along the way, I figured out a lot of Python, and threading issues. One of the most annoying issue in implementing wxPython is that it requires all changes to the UI members to be done from its own (main) thread. So, for instance in my ROS image callbacks, I could not simply lock the running threads and assign the buffer data of the incoming openCV image to the staticBitmap – doing so let monsters run through the code, what with xlib errors and random crashes. After a lot of searching, I finally realised that ALL members should be driven ONLY through events, since the event methods are always called by wxPython’s main UI thread. Another interesting tidbit was to callAfter() the event, so that the event fired only after the subscriber thread’s control over the method left. It was also fun working with the subcommand process to initialize the ROS node binaries and using Python’s awesomeness to lookup the binary files in the ROS package path and generate dynamic drop down lists from it.

A first (and last) look at the GUI. The toggle buttons that are Red signify that the associated ROS node could not be fired successfully, and the Green one are those that could. The code keeps a track of the processes, and so even if the node is killed externally, it is reflected in the GUI.

The next thing I worked on over the past few days was trying to determine the Most Likely Estimate of the distribution of trees as a Poisson process. So the rationale behind it, as I understand it, is to have a better sense of planning paths beyond the currently visible trees in the 2D image obtained by the MAV.

The dataset provided is of the Flag Staff Hill at CMU and is a static pointcloud of roughly 2.5 million points. The intersection of the tree trunks with the parallel plane has been highlighted

So I had a dense pointcloud of Flag Staff hill that I used as my dataset, and after a simple ground plane estimation, I used a parallel plane 1.5 meters above this ground plane to segment out tree trunks, whose arcs (remember that the rangefinder can’t look around the tree) I then used in a simple contour detection process to produce a scatter plot of the trees. I then took this data and used approximate nearest neighbours to determine the distance to the farthest tree in a three tree neighbourhood. I then used the distance to characterize the area associated with each tree and its neighbours and used it for binning to determine the MLE. The MLE was then simply the arithmetic mean of these binned areas. I also wrote up a nice little report in Latex on this.

A plot of the recognized trees after the contour detection. Interestingly, notice the existence of tres in clumps. It was only later that I realized that the trees in the dataset were ghosted, with another tree offset by a small distance.

Not surprisingly, I’ve grown to like python a LOT! I could barely enjoy writing code in C++ for PCL after working on Python for just half a month. Possible convert? Maybe. I’ll just have to work more to find out its issues. /begin{rant} Also, for one of the best departments in CS in the US, the SCS admin is really sluggish in granting access. /end{rant}.

