So after having narrowly missed out on starting my Master’s and arriving three and a half weeks late thanks to Immigration hooplas, I finally resumed work on the Arducopter we ordered before I left for home last year. The idea to move to a separate platform was two-fold – first, to allow us to use fancier IMUs to dead reckon better, and second, to allow us to accurately timestamp captured images (using hardware triggered captures) and IMU data so as to help us accurately determine baselines while using SfM algorithms. There is also the added benefit of being able to process data on board using the dual cores on the Pandaboard, cutting the latency issues that also crept up while commanding the ARDrone over WiFi.

I’ve been fiddling around a bit with the ArduCopter source code, and realized that the inertial navigation has been designed to work in between periods of spotty GPS coverage, and not as a standalone solution, which is a perfectly sensible idea for the typical use cases of the ArduCopter. However, since we want to not necessarily depend on the GPS, I realized that all that was needed was a little faking of the GPS in the custom UserCode.pde sketch in the ArduCopter source code.

The good part about the ArduCopter implementing the MAVlink protocol is that I can receive all this information directly over serial/telemetry using pymavlink to create a ROS node that reuses all my previous code built for the ARDrone. I knew all that modular programming would come in handy some time ;) One of our major worries was implementing a reliable failsafe mechanism (and by failsafe, I imply dropping dead) and yet again, the beauty of the code being completely accessible came to the rescue again. So, when the client overrides raw RC channel values via MAVLink if the connection gets broken there’s no way for the RC to regain control of the drone. To fix this, I first ensured that I didn’t override channels 5,6 and 7, and then in the 50 Hz user hook I listened to the Ch 7 PWM values to detect flipping the switch and consequently disarmed the motors. I also set the Ch 6 slider to switch between Stabilise and Land so that I could perform a controlled land whenever I wanted to.

So, everything’s in place after a little help from the community, and hopefully I shall be following some trajectories sometime soon. With a tether, of course.

Meanwhile, here’s a little list of extra things I needed to do to get all the ROS packages working well on the PandaBoard after the basic install process. Specifically pcl_ros.

ROS packages on Pandaboard

• Install pcl_unstable from svn source
• For the #error in finding endianness, manually specify the endianness to be PCL_BIG_ENDIAN in the header file that throws the error (Crude hack, I know)
• To get pcl_ros to compile, the vtkfind cmake file is messed up. Patch with https://code.ros.org/trac/ros-pkg/attachment/ticket/5243/perception_pcl-1.0.1-vtk5.8.patch
• ROS_NOBUILDed ardrone2 since we don’t necessarily require the driver to compile. I hate that custom ffmpeg build stuff.
• ran rosrun tf bullet_migration_sed.py for ardrone_pid
• Compiled OpenCV from source, hacked around CMakelists.txt (explicitly added paths)
• Explicitly set ROS_MASTER_URIs and ROS_HOSTNAMEs on both machines when testing out nodes

